Lentil Chili

26 May

I have been creating my own recipes for years so when I adopted a 100% plant-based diet a handful of years ago, I was given even more incentive to create delicious, healthy recipes that fit into my new lifestyle. As a family, we do not consume much soy but one food that made for an easier transition for my husband and daughters was to replace ‘ground beef’ with soy crumbles. I prefer to limit (and even eliminate) processed foods from our dinner table and lately have been opting for using lentils in place of soy crumbles. This Lentil Chili is an adaptation of my original Backyard Chili.

Backyard Chili

lentil chili
1 large onion, chopped
2 carrots, diced
2 celery stalks, diced
1/2-1 tbsp chili powder (or add more for your ‘hotness’ liking)
2 tsp ground cumin
2-14.5 oz cans diced tomatoes
1 cup green lentils
1 cup vegetable broth
1 cup pasta sauce (homemade or your favourite store-bought)
1 tbsp tamari
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 can black-eyed peas, rinsed/drained
1 cup corn niblets (preferably fresh)
A handful of fresh cilantro or parsley, coarsely chopped: for garnish

~In a large soup pot, saute onion, carrots, and celery in 1/4 cup water (or vegetable broth), until onions are translucent. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a low boil. Turn down heat to medium low, stir and cover with lid. Simmer for 30-40 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add a bit more water or vegetable broth if soup gets too thick for your liking (we like our chili thick). Garnish each serving with fresh cilantro or parsley.

Makes 4 large servings